Smoked Fish With Feta On Whole Wheat Pasta

Standard

My intense liking for smoked bangus started about six years ago when a friend had me taste what was to be my ultimate bottle of happiness that was made up of smoked bangus flakes in olive oil and powered by a number of spices that rocked my world since. The brand of that smoked bangus: Santwaryo. I believe they sell it in their resto branch somewhere in Metro Walk.

Am such a ‘groupie’ of smoked bangus. In whatever form or dish it’s mixed in, whether in pasta, pate or simply when you eat it fried (oh, yeah with a mean dish of scrambled eggs! ), the flavor just gets me going for seconds.

Last weekend saw me doing pasta using smoked bangus (packed, not the bottled). Still on the diet trail, I, of course, made sure that all ingredients I used never added up to my caloric intake (Yee, feeling! Lol). Of course! I’ve been sweating it out spinning at the gym for months now and do I just gobble up ‘cardiac delights’ at the mere presence of it? NO WAY. Well, forgive me for the cheeses though. Hee.

Okay, so what went with the pasta? Read on:

300 grams whole wheat pasta (spaghetti)

1 medium sized smoked bangus, skin, head and tail removed

2 heads of garlic, finely minced

1/2 cup chopped flat parsley

3/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled or cubed

salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Loosely crumble/flake smoked bangus meat. Set aside.

In a skillet, pour two rounds of olive oil. Saute garlic, smoked bangus and 1/4 cup  parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Add remaining oil.

Toss in pasta. Top with feta and parmesan cheese. Sprinkle with the remaining chopped parsley. Serve with your favorite toast.

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

3 responses »

  1. wow, this looks yummy! will add this one in our family holy weekend get2gether meatless menu. where can i get the whole wheat pasta? is that same as durum wheat pasta? what about the feta cheese? can i use kesong puti instead?
    btw, i found my way here from the website link flashed in one cooking/family tv show i caught in the last 3 minutes. i forgot na what it was, hehe.
    thanks for sharing your creativeness!

  2. wow, this looks yummy! will add this one in our family holy weekend get2gether meatless menu. where can i get the whole wheat pasta? is that same as durum wheat pasta? what about the feta cheese? can i use kesong puti instead?
    btw, i found my way here from the website link flashed in one cooking/family tv show i caught in the last 3 minutes. i forgot na what it was, hehe.
    thanks for sharing your recipes!

Leave a comment