Sinigang Na Talakitok Sa Miso

Standard

Inspired by Trellis restaurant in Quezon City, my mom served her rendition of their famous sinigang sa miso using talakitok as the main ingredient. When my dad was still alive, we would troop over to Trellis for their famous sisig, crackling liempo and sinigang sa miso. How we devoured each bite of these super dishes that, upto now, still remain to be Trellis’ bestsellers.

Okay, our Sunday lunch yesterday saw me giving a third hand to mom as she prepared this sinigang for lunch that went with two large servings of crispy pata and two rounds of  tortang giniling cooked over low fire on some fresh banana leaves. Ahh, like always when I’m at mom’s place, my plate worked overtime taking in as much rice and ulam as it could while I dined.

The sinigang, hands down, was my favorite. The asim of the broth, the texture of the miso, chunkiness of the tomatoes and tastiness of the talakitok all sealed by the hot and spicy  taste of the soup just made a perfect sinigang ensemble. So easy to make, too. To date, this has got to be my fave sinigang. My five-star dish, you better make this a staple in your menu soon.

Sinigang na talakitok sa miso

3 slices talakitok (or your choice of fish)

2 pcs panga of talakitok

5 pcs luyang dilaw, peeled and sliced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 onion, sliced

2 tomatoes, sliced

4 tbsps miso

3 pcs green chillies (siling pang sigang)

1 pack sinigang mix

5 mustasa leaves

salt and pepper to taste

water

oil

_______________________________________

Fry fish until golden brown. Set aside.

Saute luyang dilaw, garlic, onion, tomatoes and miso. Season with salt and pepper. Pour about 8 cups of water. Add sinigang mix and bring to a boil. Throw in green chillies (you may break them into two to make broth hotter in taste).

Once boiling, throw  in fried fish and mustasta leaves. Simmer until it boils one last time. Serve hot:)

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

