Stir-Fried White Clams And Broccoli In Oyster Sauce

Standard

I had a harried lunch at David’s Tea House along Timog today and my tummy was still begging for more Chinese fares when I left. Why, it just had a single viand of beef ampalaya toppings! So for an encore, I decided to take it upon me to fulfill my tummy’s craving.

For dinner tonight, I made some Chinese dish of Pacific white clams which I bought from SM Hypermarket Centris Station and broccoli stems and flowerettes that I generously smothered with lots of garlic and oyster sauce– now, that was the finale I earlier craved for!

Pacific white clams at SM Hypermarket at Centris Station, Quezon Avenu

Simple, mouthwatering and overloaded with excellent taste. This should find its way to your skillet soon!

You will need:

1 kilo white clams

2 heads of garlic, minced

1 head of broccoli, stems and flowerettes separated. Stems cut into about 1 inch long, 1/2 inch thick.

1/2 cup oyster sauce

water

salt and pepper to taste

Boil clams in about 3 cups of water or just enough to give steam to the clams. until they open. Be sure to discard clams that did not open or did not open wide enough. It means they are not good for consumption anymore. Clams have to be cooked all the way through. Drain and set aside.

Saute in garlic the broccoli stems. Once stem pieces are cooked, add flowerettes. Season with salt and pepper. Mix in clams and oytser sauce. Mix for the next 3-5 minutes.  Be sure NOT to overcook the clams. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

