Summer Mango-Philly Maki Rolls

Standard

Growing up, I’ve always felt excited with the combination of mango and rice. There’s something about mango that makes rice so exciting to eat. Whether in an adobo-mango-rice combo or, say, chicken in mango salsa with rice– or, yeah, just plain mango and rice! Lol. And, to further team up mango with the linamnam of cream cheese plus the stellar taste of kani, avocado and cucumber rolled as one helluvah sushi, come on!,

Tonight, I made some sushi– of mangoes, cucumber slices, cream cheese and kani! 

I have a confession to make, it took an affirmation from an FB contact, Filemon Yumul, for me to use kani confidently. I mean, I’m allergic to crabs, as in I stop breathing as a worst case scenario, how’s that? Filemon says kani is fish and starch combined with crab flavoring. Okay, I’ve heard that before and he just kinda reassured my next 70 years in this lifetime if and when I decide to chow down the kanis, finally. 

Okay, my good friend, Ria Vinzon-Miguel (wife of culinary ‘rockstar’, Chef Carlo Miguel), just messaged me on FB asking about the recipe of this sushi rice. Okay, here goes:

For the sushi rice, you will need:

3 cups uncooked Japanese rice (I used sasashiniku rice, available at SM Hypermarket)

4  cups water

6 tbsps rice vinegar

2 tbsps granulated sugar

2 tsps salt

Wash rice grains until water runs clear. Soak in water for thirty minutes before cooking. Cook over low heat.

 Once cooked, let cool while fluffing rice. Never stir the rice so as not to crush the grains. As much as possible, use the sushi rice right away after cooking and letting it cool. Otherwise, put in a container and cover with a damp cloth to lock in moisture. NEVER refrigerate the sushi rice.

To prepare the rice vinegar mixture of the sushi that you will need for final sprinkling and keeping the rice moist, you will need:

6 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 teaspoons salt

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine rice vinegar, sugar, and salt. Heat mixture just until the sugar dissolves (do not let it boil). Remove from heat and let cool until ready to use.

Once cooled, sprinkle on sushi rice very gently.

Meantime, slice magoes, peel cucumbers, kani and cream cheese to serve as filling.

Using a Japanese rolling mat, place a nori sheet on top of the mat. Spread a thin layer of sushi rice. Top with mango, cucumber, kani and cream cheese. Roll lightly. Cut into maki roll size. Serve with Kikkoman and wasabi

 

 

 


   
8 responses »

  1. Hi
    Hope its OK to contact you here but I couldn’t find a contact form. First of all let me say your blog is beautifully designed and your photography is very professional. We’d like to invite you to appear on our foodie website: http://www.foodierama.com . have a look and if you are interested contact me through the email on this comment of through the contact form on our site
    Cheers
    Dave

    • hey krixzel, you can buy nori roasted seaweed across west city central school. the one with the overpass going sm. i bought my nori there for 95 pesos

  2. Hi Caren!

    I chanced upon your blog when I was asked by one of my twitter friends if I know a dish called ‘tinumis’ (our conversation was about dinuguuan). I didnt know what tinumis was so I googled it up and your blog came in at first from the results. It was love at frist sight! Your blog is like heaven to my senses!!! I salivate just reading your entries. I am currently living here in Singapore and Pinoy cuisine is a bit diffcult to find here so your blog is like a quick trip back home.

    Anyway, the reason why I commented on this particular entry of yours is that, yes, I do agree that mangoes go well with rice. I remember my mom always partner these two for my baby brother’s solid food training. I was a bit unsure of the idea at first, but when I tried it myself it was surprisingly good! I have a penchant for Japanes food (thanks to my GF), and I believe that mangoes together with avocados make a perfect tandem for sushi.

    I am so happy to discover your blog and guess what, it is now bookmarked favorite! More power to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

