Snapper Con Salsa

Standard

This post goes out to our good friends, Jed and Beng Busalla– May you have a blessed life in Jakarta!

The past Holy week had me cook quite a wide array of fish fares. I thought it was a welcome departure from the usual chicken and mostly veggies that  I cook on regular days.

I tried my hand in working on this pack of snapper fillets that I spotted at SM HYpermarket recently. I figured it would go well with some salsa made from fresh tomatoes, a few swigs from lime plus my favorite spices, cayenne pepper, chili flakes and cumin in particular to altogether seal the deal.

Okay what did I do? I seasoned 2 whole fillets of snapper with salt and pepper, drizzled juices from half a lime and lathered each fillet with 1/4 tsp of dried basil leaves. Lightly dredged them on flour and pan fried them until they turned golden brown. I set them aside for awhile to make the salsa.

In a skillet, I sauted 1 medium sized minced onion, 1 whole head of minced garlic, 1 big julienned bell pepper and about 6 diced overriped tomatoes. Added about 3 tbsps of balsamic vinegar. Let it simmer til tomatoes became soft and all juiced out. Seasoned with salt, pepper, 1/4 tsp of chili flakes, a pinch of cumin, 1/4 tsp cayene pepper and squeezed in the remaining half of the lime. Simmered some more for about ten minutes, adding water as needed to thin out the salsa until desired consistency was achieved.

On a large plate, I assembled my fillets and poured over the salsa on them. Sprinkled chopped parsley on top and was ready for the taking:)

4 responses »

  1. this is a must try for me. i find it a bit bored eating chicken with creamy sauce, i’ll try chicken with salsa for a change, i guess i should start collecting herbs and spices to make my recipes more flavorful.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Snapper Con Salsa « The Eating Room -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

