Fish Fillet for the Lenten Season

Standard

It’s officially the  Holy Week and I’ve been pulling out seafood recipes from my mental recipe files. Growing up, I was gobbling up too many meaty dishes. So, whenever Lenten season happened, I was kinda forced to eat meatless fares that didn’t really get me excited, save for my mom’s sweet and sour lapu-lapu fillet. It was usually served to us on Good Fridays and was I just too delighted to have it!

And, now that I’m older and wiser(???), I’ve come to embrace the many exciting varieties of food that does not necessarily include pork or beef. I look forward to having meals with a simple combo of adobong pusit and ginisang munggo, or say, sinigang na tyan ng bangus and halabos na hipon.  Ahhh, now that got me hungry!

Pan-fried fish fillet

1 whole fillet of cream dory, cut into nugget size (or any fish meat of your choice)

1/2 cup lemon juice

1 cup parmesan cheese

2 cups japanese bread crumbs

1 egg. slightly beaten

1/2 cup flour

oil

Season fish with salt and pepper and marinate in lemon juice for 30 minutes.

In a small mixing bowl, combine Japanese bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.

Dredge the fish nuggets in flour, dip in egg and coat with bread crumbs.

Pan fry until golden brown. Place on kitchen napkins to rid off excess oil.

Serve with mayo-garlic dressing:  Combine 3/4 cup mayo, 1 tsp minced garlic, 2 tbsps lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Serve warm.

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

Leave a Reply

