Pesto Cream Fussili Pasta

Standard

Inspired by Cibo’s pasta Genovese, I tried my hand in doing my version of such for today’s meryenda. I thought the fusion of pesto and cream would make a delightful duo to satiate my craving palate. Cibo uses farfale or the bow tie pasta noodles to do this. I believe, it’s one of their topsellers and I wanted that on my plate asap!

Asap it was, I scoured my pantry for the ingredients and was able to dig up some goldmine of shitake mushrooms and some few bunches of fresh basil leaves for the pesto. However, what was available in my pasta jars was a coupla cups of fussili or spiral pasta noodles. Fine, I love fussili! Why, the ridges just hold so much flavor from the sauce!

Easy to make, totally tasty and very healthy, this dish should make its way to your kitchen soon.

Pesto Cream Fussili Pasta

4 cups fussili (spiral) pasta noodles

1 medium-sized onion

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can shiitake mushrooms, drained and sliced

1 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese for final topping

1 cup pesto (see recipe below)

olive oil

For the pesto:

4 cups fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup olive oil

3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

2 cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

__________________________________________

Cook pasta according to package directions

In a blender or food processor, pulse basil leaves, garlic and olive oil. Add grated parmesan cheese and season with salt and pepper.

Meantime, using a skillet, saute onion and garlic. Add shiitake mushrooms, pesto and heavy cream. Stir until all ingredients are well blended.

Toss in pasta. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese on top.

6 responses »

  1. Hi Caren!
    Pardon my ignorance but it will be my first time to buy shitake mushrooms, is this canned and can we buy this in local supermarkets? One more thing, by heavy cream, do you mean all purpose cream?

    Thanks!
    Beng =)

    • Hi, Beng!

      You may buy the shiitake mushrooms in can. However, there’s also the fresh shiitake in styro packs in select groceries like SM hypermarket. It’s the most complete.

      Re heavy cream, when you say heavy cream it refers to the fat content. It’s not the same as all-purpose but YOU MAY USE it as substitute. All purpose cream contains less fat than heavy but it can still be used in place of heavy cream in most recipes and I believe will be suitable for your pasta sauce.
      Thanks!

      Caren

  2. Thank you for this 🙂 I was going to make this tonight for my brother who absolutely loves this but I had no recipe to work on, this should be a good guide.

Leave a Reply

