Hoisin Balls

Standard

DSC_0282

Very recently, I discovered how to make meatballs that are consitently tender and  juicy even long after you’ve cooked and stored them in the ref for reheating.  Culinary purists might just crucify me for this unconventional method but hey, anything to eat good food, right?

Traditionally, meatballs are either deep or stir fried before they are mixed in with certain sauces and are left to simmer some more. While it yields a slightly crunchy texture in the outside and soft in the inside, it easily stiffens in a matter of minutes making it dry, hard and not too pleasurable to eat anymore.

Okay fine, there are other factors that make these balls “hard” (ex. too much egg, too much flour, etc.) But I discovered, it’s really the manner of cooking that makes it so.

Okay, what did I do recently? I made some Hoisin Chicken Balls. The meatballs, obviously, were the rockstars of this dish. I used half a kilo of ground chicken meat, seasoned it with salt and pepper, 1 minced onion, 4 cloves of minced garlic and mixed in 4 tablespoons of flour and mixed all ingredients together.

THERE. No egg, no crumbled bread, no too much flour. You just need the chicken meat and the potential burst of its juices with the aide of some basic spices. I  formed them into balls. Size? Your choice. Wanted mine mini’s so I balled them up this way:

DSC_0245

Then I boiled water and boiled the balls! Wee! Boiled them for about fifteen minutes. Drained and set aside.

The balls came out tender, juicy and very meaty.

In a separate pan, I put about 1/4 cup oil, sauted 1 large chopped onion and about 1/2 cup hoisin sauce. Then threw in the meatballs in the pan until all balls were well coated. THERE. Shockingly easy, right? Okay, the secret is out. The taste and texture of the balls were consistent from the moment it got cooked upto the next meal when I needed to reheat them. Yay!

DSC_0258

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

