Farfalle in Pesto And Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce

Standard

pestosundpasta 042

“Mommy, you’re the pasta queen!”, I couldn’t be more flattered when Sam referred to me as that. She delightedly finished her plate of ribbon pasta in pesto and sundried tomatoes in a jiffy. Quite a surprise there,  considering Sam’s preference for unflavored pasta and all.

But hey, before somebody raises a howl, it was just Sam labeling me as the ‘queen’, okay? Chill! In her eyes, I am. So be it! Haha!

Healthy, tasty, meatless and fanciful, this pasta has the x-factor kids would love to eat. The very pretty ribbon pasta (farfalle) should be the main attraction here to get kids into eating it. Then you load the pasta with all the healthy flavors that taste just as great.

Okay, for this dish you will need:

1/4 kilo ribbon pasta (farfalle)

1/2 cup pesto

3/4 cup sundried tomatoes

4 pcs shitake mushrooms, sliced

1/4 cup kesong puti, diced

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 tbsp dried rosemary

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, minced

1/2 cup black olives, sliced (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil

_________________________________________________

1. In a skillet, saute onion garlic, olives  and mushrooms. Add cooked pasta. Mix in pesto and sundried tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper. Add dried rosemary. Serve.

2. Top with parmesan cheese and kesong puti. Serve with your favorite toast.

pestosundpasta 023

2 responses »

  1. What kind of sundried tomatoes do you use? The bottled ones in olive oil? I have a bag of tomatoes and I read that you have to reconstitute them first by soaking in liquid? I’d rather not do that but I don’t have much olive oil to spare.

  2. I opened the bag of sun dried tomatoes from Germany. They’re quite sour and salty. From what I was reading on sun dried tomato discussions on Chowhound, I was expecting them to be rather sweetish.
    I soaked them in olive oil with a basil chiffonade but now I don’t know what do with the mixture. Even with parmesan cheese and olives, it doesn’t look like it would go well w/ pasta. I can blend it into pesto since I don’t have a good blender or enough olive oil. Hay.

Leave a Reply

