Dampa Forever!

Standard

My sister turned a year wiser very recently and decided to mark her natal day by grabbing some great eats made up of baked oysters, crabs, shrimps, etc.

Dampa was to be her ‘party place’. Fantastic!

Dampa destinations have flourished around the metro in the last few years that it made sensation. If my memory serves me right, these dampa places have been around as early as in the 80’s and Roxas boulevard (then Dewey boulevard) has been the original hub since it all began and grew big time.

The concept of dampa or sometimes referred to as a paluto eatery, is that you go to a particular resto (in our case, we went to ChaCha at Julia Vargas Avenue), and will have the option to either personally scour for fresh eats (meat, vegetables or seafoods) at a nearby palengke or ask the restaurant runners to do it for you.

They then cook what has been freshly bought. Next, you are handed a menu that contains plenty of options as to how you want your food cooked  (ihaw, sigang, kilaw, etc). Ahhh, it’s the coolest.

And, FRESH is the operative word here.  I can’t overemphasize how satiating it is to  eat at these dampa places that serve everything fresh and great. Yeah, nothing beats eating anything F-R-E-S-H!

Now, I’m hungry again. Anyway, here goes what we had:

The ‘hot front act’ dish was made of halaan soup with onion leeks.

My family is a crab-loving family. These crabs got amputated in the first ten seconds that it landed on our table!

arroz ala cubana 070

These shrimps were dipped in a special sauce by the resto. Sweet, nutty and malinamnam, the sauce was a hit.

arroz ala cubana 063

Baked oyters in garlic and cheese.

arroz ala cubana 098

Grilled tuna belly. Fat, juicy and smoky, I love this!

arroz ala cubana 114

Baked scallops. A must-try!

Meet my FOODIE mom, Baby. My nephew, Marty, and my daughter, Sam.

My celebrant-sister, Tina and her hubby, Oliver.
My sis-in-law, Michelle with my brother, Jerome and their son, Marty.
The family!
My husband, Jake.
And me looking very, very stuffed by this time!
2 responses »

  1. Goodness Caren nakakagutom naman! Yummy yummy sira ang healthy dietko nyan hahaha… as if… I love seafoods, too.Hey why don’t you go to Calbayog for a vacation. Dami dun crabs shrimps etc. We’re still in Vancouver and let’s plan it out when we get there. Okay? sige I’ll have my lunch na… nagutom tuloy ako e…

Leave a Reply

