Pan-Seared Pangasius Fillet In Herbed-Cream Sauce

Standard

At around lunch time sometime last week, I got a text message from my husband, Jake. And, it read:

“Babes, my baon is all BUTO.”

I was half-laughing in silence (couldn’t be louder, was right smack in the middle of a busy, busy mall!) visualizing him drooling to get a big bite of his caldereta when he must have realized that his fork was stabbing nothing but bones!

However, I felt half-guilty for not paying attention to the caldereta beef part that I unceremoniously dumped into his baunan. How insensitive, I thought.

Well, I promised him a much better dish the next time. And, so I did.

He had the pan-seared pangasius fillet  in herbed-cream sauce.

Pangasius fillet is actually premium cream dory. This fish has gained ground among foodies all over the world in the last few years that it had been consistently used in many dishes since it became popular. It sears well, feels firm and fleshy. Yeah, nothing ‘fishy’ at all.

(Please refer to my past post, parmesan-crusted-pangasius)

I just seasoned it with salt and pepper, dredged it lightly on flour and pan-seared for about 4 minutes on both sides.

For the sauce, I used 3/4 cup of all purpose cream (If you want to thin the sauce, you may add fish stock or water slowly in the mixture until you achieve your desired consistency), 3 tablespoons of chopped basil, 3 tablespoons of flat parsley (optional) and 1 tablespoon butter.

Just mix them together on low heat and season with salt and pepper. Pour sauce onto the pan-seared fish and voila!

Yes, that EASY!

Haay, nakabawi sa wakas!

TOUCHDOWN!

Leave a Reply

