It’s All About Aileen

Standard

It’s always  the most awaited treat everytime my buddy of two decades, Aileen, invites me to her place. Aside from our usual extremely engaging chats, the food she serves is always, hands down, the most piquant. None of the bad stuff, everything well done and well served.

About a week ago, I had a chance to visit her new place down east. I was marvelling at the posh, very chic  and well thought out design of the house’s interior.

aileen-055

Don’t you just love eating good food with a great interior design at the backdrop?

aileen-060

Now, where is the good food? It’s right here:

roasted aubergines with smoked bacon

roasted aubergines with smoked bacon

I thought that the bacon just complimented well with the neutral taste of the aubergines. Yeah, the ‘melt-in-your-mouth’ kind that kept me grabbing some more bites.

aileen-002

country fried chicken on saffron rice

Aileen’s mom was the moving force behind this gorgeous rice. She promised to share with me the recipe sometime soon. The rice in itself tasted like a complete course! I couldn’t stop scooping up some more of this rice everytime my plate got empty!

The pasta was likewise as palatable. The pasta noodles held so much flavor from the broth used to boil it. The mix of sausages actually brought home the bacon. It just jived in perfect harmony.

The play of herbs and mushrooms did enhance the taste of the whole ensemble.

aileen-009

And, our sweet ending was made of this:

chewy chocolate chip cookie ala mode

chewy chocolate chip cookie ala mode

And that was ten pounds gained in one afternoon. Ha!
Aileen committed to me the recipe of this cookie which I will post here as soon as I get it. Her cookies were so gooey, so gooey that I ate like a crate of these treats!
aileen-062

My heartfelt thanks goes out to my ‘other sister’ for graciously welcoming Sam and myself to their home and feeding us with only the best stuff. ‘Atta day! Cheers!

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Caren! Did she give the recipe for the pasta with sausages, too? Are you allowed to share their recipes? I don’t have a pasta with sausage recipe yet. 🙂

  2. Hi, Caren! Did she give you the recipe for the pasta with sausages, too? Are you allowed to share their recipes? I don’t have a pasta with sausage recipe yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

