Paksiw!

Standard

The term ‘paksiw’ refers to stewing in any sour fruit or vinegar. The three viands most often cooked in the house I grew up in were paksiw na isda, paksiw na lechon and paksiw na pata. The latter being my top pick.

mom's fall-off-the-bones paksiw na pata

mom's fall-off-the-bones paksiw na pata

My late Ilongga lola ate her ‘paksho’ (or paksiw to us) like anything! My dad swore by her paksiw na isda. It had the precise proportioning of the vinegar, garlic, water, ginger, etc.  On the other hand, I do worship mom’s paksiw na lechon and paksiw na pata! The sour and sweet just end up happily married!

In a recent trip to Fort Ilocandia, my husband Jake, brought home his loot bag of lechon baka from a grand party that served roasted calf. In other words, the sponsoring company gave away pa ‘take-out’! Haha. Now, the task: What to do with it?

I’m not a big fan of lechon baka. Baboy yes, baka, not really. The roasted calf emits a strange odor that kinda turns me off. The taste is nothing like the lechon baboy that’s succulent to the power of ten.

Given these concerns, I decided to give it a bit of a facelift and made it into a paksiw. Ahh, that one I like! It masked the odor and gave the calf a different taste that my palate so welcomed.

chelbagsempaksiw-160

 

Saute 4 cloves of chopped garlic, 1 medium-sized chopped onion, 3/4 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup soy sauce, mix in a bottle of Mang Tomas sarsa (yes, it’s my only sarsa brand!), 1 laurel leaf and throw in 3/4 kilo lechon. Voila!

 

Paksiw in any language means great filipino comfort food. Easy, scrumptious and extremely satisfying, paksiw is just the food to eat when you want to feel good.

TOUCHDOWN!

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. hi! thanks for the paksiw recipe. always wanted to do that (from scratch coz we don’t get leftover lechon over here hahaha), but never really got to doing it coz i wanted to see if it can be done without the bottled mang tomas…is it possible? is there a substitute?

  2. Caren,

    The way you describe each recipe makes my mouth water! I hope when i cook them myself, they will be as good. More, more, more!

    Aline

  3. Hi Caren!

    My dad is a very good cook and paksiw na pata is probably my fave of all his dishes. His version is super slow cooked (read: cooked over charcoal from morning till late afternoon) and boy does it taste like cloud nine! A whole head of garlic is used for this dish, half of which is used for the sankutsa phase and the other half for the stewing process. He doesn’t use soy sauce and no banana flowers too. The result is a fall-off the bone pork leg meat and super sticky (because of the cooked cartilages and tendons) sauce. I tell you this and my mother’s dinuguuan are reasons enough for me to book a ticket back home. 🙂

    Thanks and more power!

Leave a Reply

