Sicilian Tuna Pasta

Standard

To date, this dish has been one of the most labor UNintensive meals I turn to when I’m too lazy to belabor myself with cooking. Sicilian tuna pasta– oh yes, inspired by the great cuisine of Sicily (Italy). Food and wine are the two main attractions of Sicily and the former, a ‘must-indulge-in’ when you happen to be there. Sigh, but we are here. Ha! Anyway, might as well bring home the flavors of Sicily, huh? We had this last night. With wine to match. And, stories to boot. How  I look forward to dining at home with Jake after a long stress-peppered day.  Good food and a glass of red just complete the whole dining experience. Okay, here goes:

Sicilian Tuna Pasta

burger-0861

1 pack san remo linguine pasta (or any pasta of your choice, half kilo)

1 small can tomato paste

1 small pack tomato sauce

1 can tuna (in water or brine)

1 red bell pepper, finely chopped

1 green bell pepper, finely chopped

1 head garlic, minced (I love garlic, others find 1 head too much but to me, 1 head just makes the dish extra tasty!)

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped (optional)

1 tbsp fresh sweet basil, chopped (optional)

1 tbsp fresh Italian flat parsley, chopped (optional)

1 1/2 cups chicken stock

olive oil

1. In a pan, drizzle about 4  rounds of olive oil  (about 4 tbsp)

2. Saute garlic. Add tuna, bellpeppers, tomato paste, tomato sauce.

3. Slowly mix in chicken stock to thin the tomato paste. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Add herbs (optional)

5. Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top.

___________________

Cook pasta according to directions.

___________________

Plate pasta and sauce separately.

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

One response »

Leave a Reply

