Classic Embotido

Standard

I used to sell these yummy meat rolls for a good  coupla christmases. The tradition of selling this goody treat  temporarily came to a halt when prices of this embotido’s ingredients shot up and I felt I did not want to sell and explain at the same time why I would jack up prices, too.  Haaay, I’m kinda bad in doing business.  I’m always daunted by my consumers’ reaction (violent or otherwise) when price and quality are concerned.

Anyway, Here goes the recipe for this classic embotido. I take pride in sharing this with you since it’s something very, very close to my heart. A ‘pamana’ recipe from my lola. Again, something that transports me to my childhood, back when I used to call this “embutiBo” as a five-year old, haha.  Something I devour every holiday season everytime I make it. Like adobo, it goes through several ‘make-overs’ everytime I have it in my ref. I promise to post blogs on this embotido ‘make-over’ soon. Meantime, here goes the recipe:

CLASSIC EMBOTIDO

1 kilo ground pork

1 large carrot, grated

1 small bottle pickle relish

1 small can crushed pineapple, drained

1 box cheddar cheese, grated

1 pack cream of mushroom soup (powdered)

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 large onion, roughly minced

2 red bell peppers, minced

1 green bellpepper, minced

4 sliced white bread (tasty), cut into small pcs

4  small boxes of raisins

1 can vienna sausage or 5 pcs hotdog, everything halved lengthwise

salt and pepper to taste

3 hard-boiled eggs, sliced lengthwise into four

salt and pepper to taste

1 can chorizo bilbao, finely chopped (optional)

1. Mix all the ingredients except for hard boiled eggs and sausages. Let the mixture sit for an hour.

2. Lay about 1 and a half mugs (sorry I use mugs to measure, lol) of the meat mixture on aluminum foil. Assemble the hard-boiled eggs and sausage vertically and side by side. So, when you cut through once cooked, the eggs and sausages would peep through.

3. Roll the meat mixture with the eggs and sausages inside. Close on both ends.

4. Steam for an hour. Let stand for another hour. Serve with bread or rice.

Personally, I like soy sauce and calamansi with my embotido. Sometimes, though, I use ketchup. Haaay, comfort condiments, you bet.

However, if you are to serve it in a party, I suggest you whip up something more fancy for the dressing such as VELOUTE sauce.

It’s…

             1 1/2 cups beef or chicken stock

            2 tablespoons unsalted butter

            3 tbsp flour

            Salt & Pepper, to taste

In a saucepan, raise heat to medium. Melt butter then add flour to it to form a roux. Stir in stock until thickened. Season with salt and pepper.

2 responses »

  1. thanks for this great recipe… i know just by reading the ingredients, i will be able to cook a great embotido for my family…i hoep to receive updates on rcipe especially for christmas season…thanks gain!!! more power!!!

Leave a Reply

