Chicken Tacos

Standard

Work, ‘Sam time’ and ‘me moments’ have kept me tied up from doing anything ‘intensive’  in the kitchen, lately. Anyhow, I cannot NOT wear that apron as long as I’m home. Cooking has got to be my sweet ending at the end of a long day.

Alright, what to cook.. what to cook..

burger-0101

Tacos, that’s got to be it. How many times in a year do you get to munch on a good, yummy meat taco? Hope I did hear you say–OFTEN. A few nights ago, I decided to make  chicken tacos instead of the usual beef version.

FOR THE MEAT SAUCE, I just sauted 1/2 kilo ground chicken in garlic (about 1 head, minced), 1 red bell pepper (diced),  1 green bell pepper (diced) and three ripe tomatoes (diced). Salt and pepper to taste. Delaying the seasoning won’t dry out your meat too soon.

Coated the mixture with 1 small pack of pizza sauce. Threw in about 1/4 tsp teaspoon cumin powder and taco seasoning (about1 tsp).

Please note that you don’t want to make your chicken mixture too saucy, otherwise, it’s going to be too messy and unmaneageable to eat. Set aside.

On a separate dishware, put in about two onions, roughly minced. NEVER overmince the onions, you will lose a lot of its juice and flavor.

soon to be tacos...

soon to be tacos...

Then grate some cheddar cheese.

Shred some lettuce. For extra appeal, I opted to use my red cabbage (That’s colored violet! Haha!).

Prepare the tabasco, of course!

Assemble the ingredients on the table. Grab some taco shells. Put chicken meat first, then lettuce, then followed by the onions, diced raw tomatoes  and topping the whole ensemble with cheddar cheese!!!

Please note that you may substitute the chicken with beef (of course), fish (grilled and flaked) or grilled chicken that’s been cubed. Same method. Personally, I love the chunky chicken version, too. You get a lot of good bites when there are lots of yummy chunks to bite on. There.

PLATE WELL, please. Thank You…

Coming up next…

EMBOTIDO!

embotido2

One response »

  1. We love tacos, and I especially like preparing them (using a kit, though) when I do not feel like spending too much time and effort in the kitchen. I buy the Old El Paso taco kit, shredded veggies and cheese.

Leave a Reply

