Grilled Beef Burgers On Warm Focaccia Bread And Green Salad

Standard

 

burger-021

Shucks, anything but the LPG! We were out of lpg for all of five days due to the shortage and boy, was that sooo B-A-D. And since I do most of my cooking using the gas range, NOT to have it would mean ‘ihaw’ action while the tank is empty. Haay, anyway, I just had to take the challenge: what to cook using my lonesome griller.

I had a few minutes to be able to orchestrate a sumptuous dinner. Our mass was at 7pm and would end 8pm-ish. We didn’t want to have dinner too late in the night and so I had to dish out something simple, yummy and grilled.

Anyway, I made some good old beef burgers with basil and garlic. Ground round is the way to go. It’s lean, juicy and grills well. Later on, the grilled burger would sit on warm herbed focaccia bread that I bought from Legaspi Weekend Market. And, to complete the dining experience, I whipped up some green salad with honey-balsamic dressing. Now, who would ever guess that it would be a product of a twenty-minute effort? Ha!

GRILLED BURGERS ON WARM FOCACCIA BREAD

1/2 kilo ground round

1 large head of garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp chopped fresh basil

1 egg

1. Mix everything together.

2. Shape into patties. Grill for seven minutes on both sides. Serve.

____________________________________________________

Mixed Greens on honey-balsamic dressing

1 pack lettuce greens

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp margarita pomegranate (optional)

2 tbsp honey (or sugar)

1/2 tsp chopped fresh basil (optional)

1. Whisk together oil, vinegar, margarita and honey.

2. Drizzle on mixed greens. Serve.

 _______________________________________________________

Coming up next….

Chicken Tacos

burger-010

 

 

 

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

Leave a Reply

