Korean Beef Stew

Standard

One time, I craved for Korean Beef Stew. The dilemma though was whether to run to the nearest KIMCHI outlet or to stay put in my kitchen to whip up the same tasting beef stew. I opted to stay. It was a hit and miss thing as I was going through the cooking. My salt and soy wrestled with my sugar. The ribs were starting to fall off the bones but the sugar has not blended well with the whole viand just yet. The whole process was definitely a balancing act. Like me riding a unicycle or you riding a unicycle while carrying me (now, that’s a balancing act, really! Lol!) In the end, all the ingredients just blended in harmony. My tummy pleaded for a second serving.  Alas, I’m stuffed. 2 more pounds to burn, haha. Anyway, am sharing with you the recipe for this Korean Beef  Stew. Hope you like it!

KOREAN BEEF STEW

1 kilo beef short ribs or beef brisket

1 head of garlic

1 chopped onion

2 laurel leaves

chopped ginger

1/2 cup dark soy sauce

3/4 cup sugar

water (enough to cover the ribs)

chives or dahon ng sibuyas

1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds

sesame oil

chili flakes to taste

Procedure:

Season ribs with salt and pepper. Saute ginger, garlic and onion using sesame oil. Add short ribs. Cover with water. Halfway through the cooking add soy sauce and sugar plus the laureland chili flakes. Simmer until meat of the ribs start to fall off. Slow cooking is highly recommended here. In a separate pan, toast sesame seeds. Sprinkle sesame seeds and chives over the dish for garnish.

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

3 responses »

  1. Caren! It was nice meeting you! 🙂
    Will link your blog to mine.. 🙂

    I looooooooove beef stew unfortunately – I’m still on my ‘abstain pork&beef’ thing.. so…. still making tiis!! argh!!

  2. i hate it that we never get beef short ribs cuts here…i don’t know why. must pop into the local butcher, but they always give me strange looks when i ask for unusual cuts (unusual for them if i ask for baby back ribs!!! haahha). it’s not the same stew without the bone, is it? yours look yummy!

Leave a Reply

