My Kitchen, My World!

Standard

my kitchen at home

I don’t recall exactly when my love for cooking began. At the most, I remember helping my mom in the kitchen in between commercial breaks of sesame street. Yes, my love for food and the culinary arts started a long time ago.

As a kid, mom taught me a world of techniques in cooking. Among other things, she taught me stuff as basic as knowing the proper way to slice every ingredient. She recommended quartered-cut onions for any meat dish that’s  stewed or boiled or say sliced ginger as opposed to chopped when whippping up a sotanghon soup.

Taught me tips like ginger gets ahead of the garlic in the pan when you saute anything with ginger on it. Relayed to me then like  I was in a culinary school. To me, my mom is the original kitchen godess! She taught me the best way to present and plate dishes, etc. All that makes what I am in the kitchen today.

my classic fried chicken

My life at present revolves around the kitchen. I start the day preparing Jake’s Baon that’s usually labor intensive because he needs to have more than one viand. He usually eats anything but pork and beef.

a ten-minute dish

He loves pasta and soups. Rachael is famous for her 30-minute meals, well do I have good news for you, I can make mine in under ten minutes! Haha! Bragging rights because it’s true. Over the three years that I’ve been married to both Jake and my kitchen, I’ve developed dishes that can be made in all of ten minutes. Well, let’s save those recipes for another blog.

a pamana recipe from my lola

When I’m in the mood, I dish out something more complicated as this classic embotido. It’s actually easy because it’s just fusing together all the ingredients and getting the right mix. However,  it can be very labor intensive (with all the chopping, slicing and grating of the ingredients!).

I don’t know why I feel one with  my pots and pans. I just love basking in the glory of my salt and pepper! Maybe it’s passion. Or obssession. Or I just wanna eat. Whatever!

*Food Photography by the Author

About caren yrastorza

Might take forever and a day to describe who I am and what I do. In condensed words, I am a transient traveller of life.Sure, you may never freeze moments in time, but hey, you may write about them! So, please, join me as I walk you through the hallways of my mind, heart and soul. Come, join me in my journey back Into My World...

Leave a Reply

